Scotland’s top business leaders gear up for IoD Director of the Year Awards

A shortlist of 42 Scottish directors has been announced by the Institute of Directors for this year’s Director of the Year Awards, to be held at Glasgow’s Crowne Plaza Hotel on Thursday 17 March.

Nominees will go through to the final stages, competing for awards across nine main categories and six regional categories.

The Awards shine a light on Scotland’s most successful business directors, partners, chairs, NXDs and entrepreneurs from 2015, leading any size of organisation, firm or social enterprise.

Categories include big business, SMEs, charities and the public sector with a special emphasis on sustainability and working practices singling out directors that foster ‘employee positive’ policies.

The awards were described by organisers as “a celebration of Scotland’s diverse business life applauding those individuals whose creativity, leadership and responsible business practices have led to success for their organisation and the Scottish community”.

David Watt
David Watt

David Watt, executive director of the Institute of Directors Scotland, said: “Quality leadership is the very definition of success within our businesses, civic institutions and third sector organisations, and for the Director of the Year Awards we will celebrate the very best of Scotland’s directors – the inspirers, visionaries, innovators and strategists that make Scottish businesses prosper.”

Award Category


Director of the Year (Turnover over £15m)

Craig Anderson, The Scottish Salmon CompanyPeter Bruce, Entier LimitedAlan Foy, Smart Metering Systems PlcAndy Lothian, Insights Learning and Development LtdAngela Vickers, Apex Hotels Ltd

Director of the Year (Turnover up to £15m)

Rory Cameron, Cobbs GroupKen Dalgleish, Aspen People LtdJim Duffy, Entrepreneurial SparkJennifer Paice, Safe Deposits ScotlandSara Speirs, Spectrum Service Solutions Ltd

Emerging Director

Nathalie Agnew, Muckle MediaMagnus Houston, Coast & Glen LtdRobert Speir, Golden Charter LtdChris Thewlis, GTS Solutions CIC

Female Director

Roz Cuschieri, Genius FoodsLouise Macdonald OBE, Young ScotSara Speirs, Spectrum Service Solutions LtdAngela Vickers, Apex Hotels Ltd

Non-Executive Director

Angus Hogg - Chairman, Carnegie UK TrustLesley Knox - Chairman of V&A Museum of Design, Dundee and Chairman of Grosvenor GroupLinda Urquhart OBE – NXD, Scottish Enterprise, Edinburgh Airport, Adam & Company

Public Sector Director

Sharon McKenzie, Fife CouncilProf Anton Muscatelli, University of GlasgowDamien Yeates, Skills Development Scotland

Third Sector Director

Josh Littlejohn, Social BiteLouise Macdonald OBE, Young ScotJennifer Paice, SafeDeposits ScotlandJames Wells, EMMS International

Director Award for Family Friendly and Flexible Working

Bonnie Clarke, Badenoch & ClarkKen Dalgleish, Aspen People LtdJulie McLauchlin, Perceptive CommunicatorsBruce Tait, BTA (Bruce Tait Associates)

Director Award for a Carer Friendly, Healthy Workplace

Sharon McKenzie, Fife CouncilAlastair Muir, NATS LtdJennifer Roe, Carers LinkFrank Sweeney, Cunninghame Housing Association Group of Companies


In addition to the main director categories, awards made across the six regions will see individuals honoured as Regional Directors of the Year.


Shortlist for Regional Directors of the Year

Aberdeen & Grampian Director of the Year

Peter Bruce, Entier LimitedEdel Harris, CornerstoneColin Welsh, Simmons & Company International Ltd

Edinburgh, Lothians & the Borders Director of the Year

Craig Anderson, The Scottish Salmon CompanyJosh Littlejohn, Social BiteLouise Macdonald OBE, Young Scot

Fife & Central Scotland Director of the Year

Craig Letton, MRM - Managed Response MarketingPaul McGowan, First Scotland East/ Midland Bluebird LtdBruce Tait, BTA (Bruce Tait Associates)

Glasgow & West of Scotland Director of the Year

Martin Darroch, Harper Macleod LLPAlan Foy, Smart Metering Systems PlcProf Anton Muscatelli, University of GlasgowDamien Yeates, Skills Development Scotland

Highlands & Islands Director of the Year

Lisa Buchanan, Cantraybridge CollegeJennifer Hallwood, TEFL.orgIngrid Webb, COPE LTD

Tayside Director of the Year

Michael Callachan, MTC Media LtdEric Duncan, James Aimer LimitedGreig Johnston, Insights Learning and Development Ltd


All of the Scottish category winners will also have a shot at the prestigious UK Director of the Year Awards, which take place in London, in October.

Share icon
Share this article: